Upcoming Toronto Japanese Film Festival 2019


I know, I’ve been so remiss in writing lately. I have so many reviews in my head but I’ve just not processed any; however, I did want to mention the upcoming Toronto Japanese Film Festival this year that I would kill to go to again; however, life isn’t kind this year for me so I’ll just have to live vicariously from those lucky to attend



The festival begins June 6 and runs until June 27, 2019. Several actors will be in attendance to discuss the films as well as directors. So far the list includes:

Mikako Tabe
Saki ni Umareta Dake no Boku (2017)
Tsubaki Bunguten (2017)
Shikaku Tantei Higurashi Tabito (2017)
Midnight Diner 2 (2016)
Piece of Cake (2015)
Midnight Diner (2015)
Tokyo Bandwagon (2013)
Last Hope (2013)
Liar Game: Reborn (2012)
Jiu (2011)


Will be in attendance on June 8, 2019 for Love’s Twisting Path (2019) which also stars Kora Kengo in the lead as Tajuro Kiyokawa


Ayaka Miyoshi & Director Shinobu Yaguchi
Bakumatsu Gurume Bushimeshi! 1 & 2 (2018)
Angel Heart (2015)
Inuyashiki (2018)


Will be in attendance on Jun 10, 2019 for Dance with Me (2019)


Director Toshiyuki Teruya


Will be in attendance on Jun 24, 2019 for Born Bone Boon (2017)


Director Tatsushi Omori
Kanata no Ko (2013)


Will be in attendance on Jun 24, 2019 for When My Mom Died, I Wanted to Eat Her Ashes (2019) and Jun 27, 2019 for Every Day A Good Day (2018)


Check the schedule for other events like sake tasting, opening and closing receptions. There was rumoured that Takumi Saito was returning for the viewing of A Gambler’s Odyssey (2019); however, that’s not verified. Maybe he will be a surprised guest.

5 thoughts on “Upcoming Toronto Japanese Film Festival 2019

  1. I would like to know why they choose Toronto. Is it because of the Japanese population there? I think I need to petition to the Japanese embassy to bring this movie festival to DC. It’s only fair, right? lol

    • They do have a Korean film festival that’s happening very soon. But you know me, I’m avoiding the crowds right now because of the anti-vaxxers! Sorry, I have enough crap that can kill me now going on. But I wish there was more Japanese presence here. Obviously there isn’t. Unfortunately. So we have to go to Toronto or NYC.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.