Tags

Starring: Ray Chang as Ruei-Jia Chang (Hao), Tiffany Hsu as Xie Xin-yi, Chung-Hua Tou as Instructor Luo, Jieh-Wen King as Hao’s father, Yi Ti Yao as Qiao Qian-Hui, Hans Chung as Shen Zhi-chao (Superman), Hsi-Sheng Chen as Qiao’s father, Cheng-Chun Liang as Chen Tian-hua, and Wei Ai as Xin-yi’s father

Rating: PG-13, some violence

Running Time: 147 min

Twinkies: 4 1/2 stars

Synopsis: The movie tells the real-life love story of Lt. Col. Lee Cheng-liang, a high profile Indigenous Defense Fighter (IDF) jet pilot and a highly decorated Lieutenant Colonel in the Taiwan Air Force, and his selfless dedication to his visually impaired wife.

Musings: To end the month of November, I’m going to do something totally different, please bare with me. I really like to highlight other Asian movies out there because there are good ones besides Korean. One of the rarities is for me to watch and really love a romance story. Whenever I find one that truly uplifts me and wins my heart, I have to tell you about it. This is definitely one to watch.

As you can imagine, this movie gives you the “Top Gun” vibes. Lt. Lee is a new pilot and the filming allows you the wonderful and absolutely stunning shots in the air as he flies. Anyone who was a fan of “Top Gun” will definitely like this one. Guy meets girl; guy falls head over heels for girl; however, girl finds out about a disease that is causing her blindness and she runs away leaving the poor guy clueless as to why.

The story line is definitely not unique but I must admit the chemistry between Tiffany and Ray was wonderful. Great chemistry adds to the pleasure of watching a romance. Sure, the usual trope here and there is thrown in but as this is a movie, none are dragged out unnecessarily and the love between these two you can see and feel as it is palpable. A great and heartfelt love story; add a few jet flights and air fight scene, gives you something for everyone.

Trailer is available on on YouTube Website only. The movie is available on various streaming websites.

For the month of December, I’m re-visiting some of the KBS Drama Specials that are readily available on YouTube. Finally, KBS World remembered to start uploading them again after many months of none being available! If we are lucky, I might actually watch one from every genre! Wish me luck!

I’m available on Twitter. Thanks to all of you Twinkles out here who are taking the time to read! If you have a suggestion for a future review, just leave me a comment! I’m always happy to have movie suggestions.

