Lee Byung Hun Cast for “The Magnificent Seven” Remake


Source: Hancinema
Lee Byung Hun is set to be cast in his 5th Hollywood film, “The Magnificent Seven”. He has been cast as Billy Rock which is not a character from the original so it is easy to see that this role/character might be tailored for him

In addition to Lee Byung Hun is the addition of my sweetheart, Jason Momoa. Some might know him from Stargate: Atlantis; I know him beginning with Game of Thrones, Khal Drogo (Daenerys Targaryen’s husband in the 1st season).


Another exciting thing is that Antoine Fuqua (Training Day, Shooter, The Replacement Killers) is set to direct this movie written by the late and great Akira Kurosawa and Shinobu Hashimoto (who co-wrote the great films Ran, Seven Samurai and Rashomon together). If you haven’t seen any of this man’s films, you are missing some great movies! I’m looking forward to this. Okay, before you say it, another remake; however, sometimes that is a good thing! The return of the great westerns is a good thing! When is the last time we had a good western released? Me? None comes to mind. Other cast members will be Vincent D’Onofrio, Chris Pratt, Denzel Washington, Ethan Hawke and Luke Grimes.

Well, whatever you say about the man, he is found the equation for winning roles and getting more Asian presence in American films. A few years back, we were saying the same thing about African Americans in films. While their presence is still not enough for me, it is nice to see more and more minorities given roles that are not necessarily written for their race/culture. Welcome to Hollywood, Mr Lee!

Other Lee Byung Hun movies:
“Beyond Deceit”
“Terminator: Genisys”
“Red 2”
“G.I. Joe 2”
“G.I. Joe”

2 Replies to “Lee Byung Hun Cast for “The Magnificent Seven” Remake”

  1. A remake can be a hit-or-miss depending on the execution, I guess. As far as a classical play like Shakespeare’s or a cult movie like this is concerned, the execution and the director’s dream for his/her film is primary and decisive factors.What can I say about LBH whom I adored the first time I watched his Bittersweet Life? He seems to have forgotten his true talent -and he may be after money, which is fine with me. He has a family to support now!- with all these action movies in Hollywood. Up till now, I wish…Ah, Jason Mamoa! He makes Lisa one very happy lady. Have you watched his series (I think it’s in Sundance Channel) The Red Road? I haven’t yet. I’m saving it for a marathon session…Thank you for the updates, amica!

    1. No, I have that series on my queue to watch with Jason! Cannot wait!! I like the fact that this is a western! There are a couple more I wouldn’t mind them doing! I loved Yul Brenner! I will definitely be very critical of this remake!

Leave a Reply

