Casting of Tomorrow Cantabile (2014)


Fan Art courtesy of : Cantabile Romance Blog
With the script readings completed, the first shots of the drama will start next month, early September, 2014. The drama will begin following the end of Discovery of Romance.

Here is the cast (as of 8/25/2014):
Shim Eun Kyung as Seol Nae Il
Joo Won as Cha Yoo Jin
Baek Yoon Shik as Franz von Stressman
Go Kyung Pyo as Yoo Il Rak
Jang Se Hyun as Ma Soo Min
Jeong Sung Ah as Lee Dan Ya
Min Do Hee as Choi Min Hee
Kim Yu Mi as Chae Do Kyung
Park Bo Gum as Na Yoon Hoo
Jo Yoon Woo as Lee Jae Yong
Lee Byung Joon as Do Gang Jae
Lee Ah Hyun as Yang Seon Yeong (Cha Yoo Jin’s mother)
Synopsis
A drama that follows the lives of young and passionate musicians, all hoping to fulfill their dreams and become successful artists in the field of classical music.


My Thoughts
The cast looks pretty much complete; however, as Korean writers like to ruin stories sometimes, there is news that this version will actually have a love triangle. Park Bo Gum who is cast as Na Yoon Hoo will be vying for Seol Nae Il’s affection per Cantabile Romance blog. Hopefully, this won’t ruin the story for me. The proverbial “love triangle” might interest others, but it is a show killer for me. I’m hoping it is a brief interlude and doesn’t drag for too long.

Joo Won has been practicing vigorously for his role as a young classical music aficionado and conductor. Several photos have been posted of him concentrating on classical music and practicing his conducting skills. I personally expected no less from him, he is a very thorough and proficient actor. I saw this in Baker King and other dramas I’ve seen him in (See pictures here.

As far as Shim Eun Kyung, she was first and only actress that I saw for this role. I thought of others that could do it but only if she wasn’t available. I was so glad that the movie got pushed later and the opportunity for her to be in this drama was still available. Idol casting would have rung the death knell for this drama otherwise so props for Yoona for listening to the fans of this drama and backing away from this project. But big UPs to the fans for making our voices heard!! I was surprised by the turn of events but very glad. Can you imagine what it would have been like? I can’t because I sure wouldn’t have been watching.

Now, I am a big fan of the Japanese version, so my expectations aren’t the same for this version. But what I do know that we will get a great performance from both Joo Won and Shim Eun Kyung. Guaranteed! And Baek Yoon Shik as Franz von Stressman? Perfect casting!!

2 Replies to “Casting of Tomorrow Cantabile (2014)”

  1. I can’t wait! I’m very happy with the casting and I hope the Korean version lives up to the original! I’m optimistic but we’ll have to wait to see how the show actually turns out. That being said, Joo Won and Shim Eun Kyung should be fantastic together!

Leave a Reply

