JDrama Weekend: Tokyo Dogs

Tokyo DOGS

Stars
Oguri Shun as Takakura Sou
Mizushima Hiro as Kudo Maruo
Yoshitaka Yuriko as Matsunaga Yuki
Ryo Katsuji as Keiichi Horikawa

Producer: Tsugi Shikanai
Network: Fuji TV
Episodes: 10
Release Date: October 19 – December 21, 2009



Synopsis
Takakura Sou (Shun Oguri) is an elite detective from the New York Police department. He has a very keen sense of judgement but is cold and inflexible. Sou lost his father in a murder as a young boy, which drove him to become a detective. Kudo Maruo (Mizushima Hiro) is a former motorcycle gang member now special detective with the Japanese police department. These two opposite characters team up on a case in which secrets are held by a young lady named Matsunada Yuki (Yoshitaka Yuriko).

Review
I find it fascinating that Sou is supposed to be a cop from New York but born in Japan; however, every time he pulls out his weapon, he shoots EVERYONE! Not sure what the director/writer was trying to say, even though I might half agree, I think Sou’s portrayal is way excessive!


Overall, it was a fun fare for anyone who likes Shun Oguri. Story wise, it was not a really great story. Even though it featured a different case about every episode, it did weave in Sou’s back story of trying to find the murderer of his father when he was younger. After eight episodes, I still hadn’t figured out why his father was killed in the first place. I think the writer could have done a better job in putting forth that information a little quicker so you, the viewer would care.


I think I got a kick out of the supporting characters more because they were silly and very colorful; especially Maruo (Mizushima Hiro) who was pretty ditzy to be a cop. I would kind of hate for him to be my backup as he tend to not be “with” it most of the time and would constantly argue with Sou about just everything.


One of the many funniest moments was when they were shadowing a suspect at the gym and were on the treadmills and this woman came up. Instead of paying attention to the suspect, Maruo was too busy checking out the woman’s breast. When Sou realize what he was doing, he chastised him and then proceeded to do the same thing. Even as a female, I saw the humor in the scene.

One thing I just couldn’t understand is how Yuki (Yoshitaka Yuriko) could be Jinno, (Sou’s father killer) girlfriend! I mean, what was she dating, a man her father’s age? But what made it even more unbelievable was during the flashbacks of her memories, the guy ( you never see his face) was obviously much younger than an older man. To the viewer, that is very, very confusing.

But Sou’s family were hilarious! His mother (Tanaka Yoshiko) always found the most inopportune moment to call him while he was on duty. Whether if he was on a stake-out; chasing a suspect or basically being shot at. She made it a point to shame him for complaining. But the one who cracked me up the most was Nakatani (Yoshimura Takuya). I have assume he was Sou’s sister, Karin (Kawaguchi Haruna) boyfriend. But he didn’t seem to have a home as he was forever over the Takakura home: day and night!


Romance-wise? Forget it. There is more bromance than romance. We got a lot of screen time between the detective partners than Yuki and Sou.

td1
The romance between Keiichi (Katsuji Ryo) and Maki (Usuda Asami) was probably the most prominent romance; and they were barely on the screen! Truthfully, most Japanese dramas lack romance in my estimation but are usually better in the story development.

This drama is definitely only for the hardcore, Shun Oguri fans. What it lacks in story and romance, it makes up for it with the action. Shun+Gun=Interesting. I’ll give it a 6.5 rating (MDL scale); better than fine but just not that good.

4 thoughts on “JDrama Weekend: Tokyo Dogs

  1. i am a big shun oguri fan. just finished watching tokyo dogs. can you recommend a romcom with him in it? thanks!

    1. My first Shun drama was a romcom; Rich Man Poor Woman. If you haven’t seen it yet, you must. I’ve never watched Hana Kimi but everyone says it is good. Juui Doolittle was cute but no romance to talk about.

  2. Hana Kimi is good…but I like Ouroboros the best. that drama’s amazing. I liked Shun’s look in Tokyo Dogs and the show was good for a few laughs–Shun and Hiro’s comic timing was good.

    How’s Rich Man, Poor Woman? Is it worth the hype?

    1. I keep saying I’m going to watch Hana Kimi but I rarely watch HS dramas so it is way down my list. Rich Man, Poor Woman was fun to watch. The romance isn’t too heavy though but the story is good to me, especially because I am in the IT world.

Leave a Reply

